HISTORIC OLYMPIC STADIUM
An Historic Venue for the Regions Fun and Games
The Olympic Stadium was built and opened in 1938. The City of Hoquiam first got the idea for an all-wood stadium in the early 1930s when it applied for a Civil Works Administration grant. In 1932, the grant was approved. Construction began in early 1938 with the stadium officially opening to the public on Nov. 24, 1938.
The physical structure of Olympic Stadium is an old growth fir heavy-timber frame with cedar shingle siding. Built in a truncated U-shape with angled corners, the open portion of the 21/2 story grandstand faces east. This orientation was used so that fans and players would be somewhat sheltered from the wind and rain coming off the Pacific Ocean.
The all wooden park appears to be one of the most unique in the country, with the shingled exterior, the completely covered 'L' shaped grandstand extending all the way down the line in right and extending into the outfield. The seats are wooden grandstands, which overlook the fields which are in excellent shape. It has hosted a range of sports for the spectators since that its beginning.
It last hosted professional baseball in the late 1990's when the Grays Harbor Gulls of the independent Western League called this park home and is now the home of the Grays Harbor Bearcats, a semi-pro football team. The stadium hosts baseball and football fields and receives plenty of use from teams such as the Bearcats football team, Hoquiam High School football team, Hoquiam Youth Baseball and Youth Football, the Comcast Outdoor Cinema, the Push Rods event, the Bluegrass festival and Loggers Playday events yearly.
It is also available for rentals for private parties and events. Click here to download Stadium Use Agreement
The Stadium was placed on the National Register of Historic Places on August 22, 2006. Olympic Stadium is truly a hidden gem that is well worth visiting if you are traveling along Route 101 in Washington.